Moonstone Units

Discuss anything related to the Asrai, our forests, or camps around the Old World in here.

Moderator: Council of Elders

dead pirate gamer
Newcomer
Newcomer

Moonstone Units

Post by dead pirate gamer »

What units do you prefer to have your Moonstone character? I have never used the item before. I have a 2400 point list i plan to try out this week with Glade Lord on a Great Stag carrying the Moonstone in a unit of Wild Riders. I have the Acorn in the list too. The idea is to bounce them around to set up flank/rear charges as well as scare people into over reacting.
Phil Rossiter
Wild Hunter
Wild Hunter

Re: Moonstone Units

Post by Phil Rossiter »

I've tried Stag Lord in Wild Riders and I'm not convinced. On the charge, they don't need him, otherwise he's not enough to win a grind for them. Sisters make more sense for a bus IMHO because they are more resilient, you don't lose control due to Frenzy and they can heal the characters.

As far as Stag Lord goes, he needs Charmed Shield IMHO else war machines kill him. That means he pretty much has to take a 4+ Ward for general defence. That leaves 50pts, best spent on Ogre Blade I believe. You could get away with Moonstone and Great Weapon but he fights worse.

Acorns then have to go on a mage. A further mage is then a very good idea to carry Dispel Scroll. BSB is a good idea generally.
NonnoSte
Bladesinger
Bladesinger
Armies I play: All kind of Elves.

Post by NonnoSte »

With no much surprise, I found the moonstone effective on a Shadoweaver sitting in a decent sized unit of Scouts or Waywatchers (20 in the last game I tried it).
Being skirmishers they can teleport and keep on shooting as usual.
Probably Trueflight is better than Hagbane in this specific situation.

Otherwise a Dark or Death Weaver can make good use of that item, sending vortexes up enemy's flanks.
Phil Rossiter
Wild Hunter
Wild Hunter

Post by Phil Rossiter »

I use Beasts lvl4 in Waywatchers, very happy with it.