Ogre Kingdoms Tactica

Moderator: Council of Elders

LandonElf
Trusted Bowman
Trusted Bowman

Ogre Kingdoms Tactica

Post by LandonElf »

I will try to keep things brief by only listing the things that I have personally played against and/or units that are notably present in common Ogre lists in my meta. I don’t own the book, so I don’t’ have a complete knowledge of all units, so please feel free to comment with any corrections/additions.

I am not an Ogre expert by any means, but I have played upwards of 60-70 games vs them and have won many, even in tournament settings. Make no mistake though, Ogres are one of our worst matchups and beating them will require a strong strategy and a great deal of luck.

Army-Wide Rules for Ogres

Fear- All Ogres in the army have Fear
Speed 6- All ogres have at least speed 6
Ogre Charge- All Ogres in the army have impact hits with +1 strength for each additional rank beyond the first. Additionally, if they roll a 10+ on 2d6 on the charge/overrun/pursue, then each Ogre gets d3 impact hits.
Monstrous Infantry- Being monstrous infantry, Ogres have stomp attacks, ranks consisting of 3 models, and an immunity to killing blow.

What to Bring

What to bring vs Ogres- Treemen, Treekin, Eagle Nobles, redirectors and plenty of shooting. Ogres win games via combat, so your goal is to delay large combat units while you whittle them down. Only at the last possible second do you engage them with your trees. Weirdly, a tooled up Forest Dragon Highborn has performed well in the past. Lore of Beasts is nice as Curse makes any Ogre hit only on 5’s and Amber Spear can threaten entire units.