Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or not?

All questions about difficult rules in here; for both Asrai as well as other armies.

Moderator: Council of Elders

Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or not?

Postby Avian » 06 Jun 2014, 10:09

As the title says can I put a character on a great eagle into a unit of warhawks? On the face of it I should be able to, it's a character mounted on a monstrous beast going into a unit of monstrous cavalry with the same base size, brilliant job done lets shove the twins in there and mess with people.

However, I have seen several people on the forums saying that a character can't join the warhawks, if this is the case why not? I've checked my brb and not found anything to suggest I can't do this but this just makes me think I've missed something. Can someone clarify this for me please?
Avian
Trusted Bowman
User avatar Trusted Bowman
 
Posts: 139
Joined: 31 Mar 2014, 21:41

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby MarkM » 06 Jun 2014, 10:21

No. No one can join a unit of flyers. See BRB under Flyers.
MarkM
Newcomer
Newcomer
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 22 May 2013, 15:53

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby Avian » 06 Jun 2014, 11:24

I'm looking at the "fly" rule on pg 70 and can't see that anywhere and "flyers" aren't listed in the index. Can you give me a page reference please?
Avian
Trusted Bowman
User avatar Trusted Bowman
 
Posts: 139
Joined: 31 Mar 2014, 21:41

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby Avian » 06 Jun 2014, 11:27

Ah, got it now on page 97. never mind
Avian
Trusted Bowman
User avatar Trusted Bowman
 
Posts: 139
Joined: 31 Mar 2014, 21:41

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby Fitz » 06 Jun 2014, 14:44

Also, they're not on the same base size are they? 50mm for a GE and 40mm for a WH.
Fitz
Horsemaster
Horsemaster
 
Posts: 350
Joined: 03 Jan 2009, 17:31
Location: The Ashdown Forest

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby Avian » 06 Jun 2014, 14:54

Eagles are on a 40mm. The metal great eagles that are still sold for high/wood elves come in a 40mm

EDIT: Actually having checked this seems to be a total can of worms with GE base sizes some people say 50, some 40 and there's not a definitive answer. I would say 40 as they're a monstrous beast not a monster but from what I've read there's very little consensus on this one!
Last edited by Avian on 06 Jun 2014, 15:07, edited 2 times in total.
Avian
Trusted Bowman
User avatar Trusted Bowman
 
Posts: 139
Joined: 31 Mar 2014, 21:41

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby Beithir Seun » 06 Jun 2014, 15:02

Avian wrote:Eagles are on a 40mm. The metal great eagles that are still sold for high/wood elves come in a 40mm



No, they don't. The only Great Eagles you can get from GW now (at least in the UK) are these ones and they come on 50mm bases.

The only Eagles that have ever come on 40mm bases are the old "War Eagles", which are models from 5th Edition Warhammer...
Carrot and Stick ~ Beithir's Blog
Beithir Seun
The Philosopher
User avatar Content Admin (1) Council Leader (1) LEAF Leader (1) Campaign Team (1)
 
Posts: 17372
Joined: 18 Apr 2006, 18:03
Location: Surrounded by Night Goblins in furry hats...

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby Avian » 06 Jun 2014, 15:09

Bother. That's quite annoying I shall have to rebase my eagles then, it's especially annoying as I had checked with the store manager where I play before basing them. Ah well, I had been planning on converting up some warhawks anyway...
Avian
Trusted Bowman
User avatar Trusted Bowman
 
Posts: 139
Joined: 31 Mar 2014, 21:41

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby Tropic » 06 Jun 2014, 20:40

On a related topic, can you join a character on a Great Eagle to a unit of Great Eagles? I noticed the new rulebook changed the unit size for Great Eagles from 1 to 1+.
Tropic
Newcomer
User avatar Newcomer
 
Posts: 93
Joined: 18 Sep 2011, 04:52

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby InstantKarma » 06 Jun 2014, 21:34

Tropic wrote:On a related topic, can you join a character on a Great Eagle to a unit of Great Eagles? I noticed the new rulebook changed the unit size for Great Eagles from 1 to 1+.


Sadly nope. Flying Characters, no matter how they are flying, cannot join a flying unit of any kind.

Doesn't make any sense but, such is GW.

I think there was some joke that if you argued you could do that, all the Brettonian players with Pegasus Paladins would start throwing their knights at you in frustration :D

Course it gets even wierder when you look at a character like Tik'Taq'To in the Lizardmen book, and he has a magic item that is supposed to confirm Ambushers onto his unit of Terradon riders, as well as give the Terradons in said unit his WS...and yet, he is prohibited from joining a unit of Terradon Riders!
A project with two of my friends on being new to Warhammer Fantasy.
http://taleof3wargamers.wordpress.com/
InstantKarma
Trusted Bowman
User avatar Trusted Bowman
 
Posts: 182
Joined: 06 Mar 2014, 17:13
Location: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby seanr » 06 Jun 2014, 22:38

Heh, that Tik'Taq'To one is crazy, I completely overlooked that.

Just to add, even though a character on a Great Eagle can't join Warhawk Riders, they can fly nearby and get a Look Out Sir save, though the Warhawk Riders will need to be at least 5 rank-and-file strong.
seanr
Trusted Bowman
User avatar Trusted Bowman
 
Posts: 162
Joined: 23 Apr 2014, 22:51

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby Maeglin » 07 Jun 2014, 01:17

Isn't Tik'Taq'To the exception to the rule? In that he (it?) has a separate rule allowing the joining of Terradons. Or was that the previous army book?
Follower of the Trickster God.
Maeglin
Bladesinger
User avatar Bladesinger
 
Posts: 635
Joined: 14 Aug 2005, 02:07
Location: lost, but finding my way

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby mjHession » 07 Jun 2014, 12:43

Yeah, it's really silly in some cases. My wife plays Brets and half the time I just let her Pegasus paladin Juan a unit of Pegasus knights rather than hear her complain about how stupid the rule is.
mjHession
Newcomer
Newcomer
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 21 May 2014, 12:42

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby InstantKarma » 07 Jun 2014, 18:14

Maeglin wrote:Isn't Tik'Taq'To the exception to the rule? In that he (it?) has a separate rule allowing the joining of Terradons. Or was that the previous army book?


Previous book. Current book doesn't explicitly list an exception for him. Unless some Lizardmen players have figured it out otherwise.
A project with two of my friends on being new to Warhammer Fantasy.
http://taleof3wargamers.wordpress.com/
InstantKarma
Trusted Bowman
User avatar Trusted Bowman
 
Posts: 182
Joined: 06 Mar 2014, 17:13
Location: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby Zimmonda » 07 Jun 2014, 19:15

Do people really not let tik taq to join terradon riders?
Zimmonda
Newcomer
Newcomer
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 14 Apr 2014, 14:29

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby InstantKarma » 07 Jun 2014, 21:01

Zimmonda wrote:Do people really not let tik taq to join terradon riders?


I was under the impression that while his rules imply he should be in a unit, that since he was not given an explicit exemption from the rule in the BRB that some people do not.
A project with two of my friends on being new to Warhammer Fantasy.
http://taleof3wargamers.wordpress.com/
InstantKarma
Trusted Bowman
User avatar Trusted Bowman
 
Posts: 182
Joined: 06 Mar 2014, 17:13
Location: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby Zimmonda » 07 Jun 2014, 21:03

InstantKarma wrote:
Zimmonda wrote:Do people really not let tik taq to join terradon riders?


I was under the impression that while his rules imply he should be in a unit, that since he was not given an explicit exemption from the rule in the BRB that some people do not.


Thats kinda messed :(
Zimmonda
Newcomer
Newcomer
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 14 Apr 2014, 14:29

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby nated4444 » 07 Jun 2014, 22:40

this is somewhat related so can a flier say (naestra and arahan) join a unit of calvery say.... sisters?
thanks
Ioreth Starmantle wrote: Hmm, the Asur never leave home without the Book of Hoeth, the Druchii love their Tome of Furion. We now have one that suits us very nicely(book of asur). Time to start an Elf book club (that means we club each other with books).
nated4444
Newcomer
Newcomer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 14 Jan 2014, 04:20
Location: india, bangalore

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby Domine Nox » 09 Jun 2014, 00:43

Probably no, but even if they could they would no longer be able to fly so the whole unit would move at Gwindalor's base speed which would be 2".
Domine Nox
Trusted Bowman
Trusted Bowman
 
Posts: 216
Joined: 08 May 2014, 16:59

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby dg1 » 09 Jun 2014, 04:37

The reason a mounted character cannot join a unit of flyers is because the skirmisher special rule in the BRB says characters on mounts cannot join a unit of skirmishers (BRB, p. 77). Units with more than one model with the fly special rule count as skirmishers (BRB, p. 70). The reason for this was originally assumed to be that the skirmishers were infantry but GW specifically issued an FAQ for Bretts saying that the Brett characters on pegs could not join a peg knight unit. GW also did not FAQ the rules for skink chiefs on terradons (nor ripperdactyls either). GW should have issued an FAQ or errata saying that characters on flying mounts my join flying units of the same unit type. Also, on page 97 of the BRB it says a character cannot join a unit of flyers (due to too many ill-disciplined wings) unless otherwise stated.
dg1
Newcomer
Newcomer
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 06 May 2014, 03:47

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby Phil Rossiter » 09 Jun 2014, 16:53

nated4444 wrote:this is somewhat related so can a flier say (naestra and arahan) join a unit of calvery say.... sisters?
thanks

Yes, so long as they're not riding a Monster. Can be useful against BS shooting for example.
Phil Rossiter
Wild Hunter
Wild Hunter
 
Posts: 1549
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 13:02
Location: Britain

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby mjHession » 09 Jun 2014, 17:23

Phil Rossiter wrote:
nated4444 wrote:this is somewhat related so can a flier say (naestra and arahan) join a unit of calvery say.... sisters?
thanks

Yes, so long as they're not riding a Monster. Can be useful against BS shooting for example.


True, but I do think Domine Now is correct in saying...
Domine Nox wrote:Probably no, but even if they could they would no longer be able to fly so the whole unit would move at Gwindalor's base speed which would be 2".
mjHession
Newcomer
Newcomer
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 21 May 2014, 12:42

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby Masternecrotect » 09 Jun 2014, 23:50

The reason he cant join is that the warhawks are flying cav. Unit the same reason a Bret lord on peg cant join. Lizards tiq taq toe can join terradons because they aren't flying cav. Also the eagle is on a 50mil base not 40
Masternecrotect
Newcomer
Newcomer
 
Posts: 58
Joined: 29 Apr 2014, 11:17
Location: virgina

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby nated4444 » 10 Jun 2014, 03:08

isn't the cavalry 25 by 50 though
Ioreth Starmantle wrote: Hmm, the Asur never leave home without the Book of Hoeth, the Druchii love their Tome of Furion. We now have one that suits us very nicely(book of asur). Time to start an Elf book club (that means we club each other with books).
nated4444
Newcomer
Newcomer
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 14 Jan 2014, 04:20
Location: india, bangalore

Re: Eagle characters; can they go into units of warhawks or

Postby mjHession » 10 Jun 2014, 03:24

Masternecrotect wrote:The reason he cant join is that the warhawks are flying cav. Unit the same reason a Bret lord on peg cant join. Lizards tiq taq toe can join terradons because they aren't flying cav. Also the eagle is on a 50mil base not 40


By this logic an eagle rider could join a unit of eagles...
mjHession
Newcomer
Newcomer
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 21 May 2014, 12:42

Next

Return to The Pool of Enlightenment

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron