New WE general 2,000 (mostly friendly)

Discuss your latest army list or composition, or ideas on how to create your next tournament-winning army.

Moderator: Council of Elders

Van von Hunter
Newcomer
Newcomer

New WE general 2,000 (mostly friendly)

Post by Van von Hunter »

As the title indicates, I am new to Asrai ways. I played those silly High Elves a few years ago but life happens and I had to stop. Now I'm back in the game and given that my buddy and another player at the gaming club have chosen to play HE I figure it might be a good time to change things up. Enter the Asrai!! I've always been a fan of these tricksy guys and with the new models I am finding it extremely difficult to say no to these tree-hugging-knife-ears.

With all that said, I am looking to field a rather shooty army with the ability to be flexible enough to deal with WoC armor and Skaven/DE hordes moderately well. This is what I have come up with:

Lord
Spell Weaver (Grand Poobah) 325
lvl4 High Magic
Asrai longbow
Acorn of the Ages

Hero
Spellsinger (Dispel Caddy) 145
lvl2 Life or Metal (can't really decide)
Asrai Longbow
dispel scroll

Glade Captain (Pep Flag Waver) 125
BSB
Bow of Loren
Asrai spear, shield

Core
19x Glade Guard (Poobah and Flag bunker) 304
Swiftshiver Shards

17x Glade Guard (Caddy's brigade) 204

Special
5x Wild Riders (Suicide Hammer #1) 140
shields

5x Wild Riders (Suicide Hammer #2) 140
shields

5x Deepwood Scouts (Those Annoying Guys) 80
Hagbane Tips

5X Deepwood Scouts (Those Other Annoying Guys) 80
Hagbane Tips

Rare
10x Waywatchers (The Ranged Can Openers) 200

Treeman (Ol'Woody) 245
Strangleroots

Total: 1988

My general strategy:
1) keep Hand of Glory (+BS) up to make Swiftshiver shards viable
2) Acorn + Worldroots Forest will guarantee at least 2 forests on the board (hopefully 4-5 total with regular terrain and roll of 3+ for acorn)
3) pincushion everything in sight, rinse, repeat