Modryn, The Night Glens

Discuss anything related to the Asrai, our forests, or camps around the Old World in here.

Moderator: Council of Elders

Evil Hypnotist
Newcomer
Newcomer
Armies I play: Warriors and Daemons of Chaos, Skaven

Modryn, The Night Glens

Post by Evil Hypnotist »

Hi all,

I am new to the Asrai, having been waiting for the new book before starting a force with them. Looking through the fluff I have some good ideas for a themed army based from The Night Glens. I am looking for some advice on what units would make sense from a fluff points of view. The only definite I can glean from the book is a Darkweaver and some tree spirits, aesthetically I think Wildwood Rangers and Waywatchers would look good too with their hoods, and even a Shadowdancer and his troupe, and/or some Deepwood Scouts possibly.

Any thoughts?
Niedfaru
Trusted Bowman
Trusted Bowman
Armies I play: WFB: Wood Elves, 40K: Eldar

Re: Modryn, The Night Glens

Post by Niedfaru »

This is very similar to a themed list I was thinking of building. The trouble I'm coming up against is that almost all the units that thematically fit are Special. You can fill out the Core with Dryads I suppose, but that leaves the centre of the army rather subpar. It'll take some getting used to how to play it.
Beithir Seun
The Philosopher
Armies I play: Wood Elves, Bretonnians | Sylvaneth, Soulblight Gravelords | Astra Militarum, Tau

Post by Beithir Seun »

Fluffwise, all Wood Elf halls have Glade Guard as their "standing army" - every adult elf is capable of wielding a bow, and will fight as a Glade Guard in times of war (unless they already have a "specialty"). They're basically the mainstay of every Wood Elf army, so that's your Core allowance...
Carrot and Stick ~ Beithir's Blog
overtninja
Trusted Bowman
Trusted Bowman
Armies I play: just wood elves :p

Post by overtninja »