Dice Rolling

Moderator: Council of Elders

Dice Rolling

Postby roflopogus » 10 Aug 2011, 19:30

Hey,

I played a match against Warriors of Chaos yesterday, and an interesting situation came up that cost me my noble. Basically, my noble was charged by a unit of 4 warriors of chaos, and since he had a great weapon, he struck last. Of course he got absolutely crushed, but I had Stone of rebirth that I figured would save him. My question then is, when attacking with a unit of multiple models, do you have to roll all of your to hit rolls at once, all of your to wound rolls at once, and all of your armor saves at once, or is this for faster gaming? My opponent insisted that this was the case, so that the several wounds dished out from his chaos warriors added up to kill my noble outright. I promptly stated that only if he had a model that had killing blow or that did multiple wounds would my noble be killed outright. I looked on the forum through the Stone of Rebirth posts, as I know the rules are very blurry, but I didn't see anything about the dice-rolling. Ultimately, we ended up rolling a 4+ which I of course lost, and so my noble was removed, pretty much costing me the game.

Thanks,
Roflopogus
roflopogus
 

Re: Dice Rolling

Postby Admiral_Wow » 10 Aug 2011, 19:58

i think they FAQ'd it ... you roll one at a time in that kinda situation. since the moment you go to 1 wound you get the ward save... same concept as the SoCM you roll them one at a time.

you are right about the killing blow and the multi wounds tho.

fast dice rolling is not a rule it is a suggesting to make the game run faster. Sounds like you got the short end of the stick on that one ... sucks.
Admiral_Wow
Trusted Bowman
User avatar Trusted Bowman
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 29 Jul 2010, 21:23
Location: Texas

Re: Dice Rolling

Postby tifus » 10 Aug 2011, 21:01

In my core book, I can read : "Il est plus simple de lancer tous les dés d'un coup, même si ce n'est pas obligatoire" (yes, i'm french :p)
It's something like "It's easier to throw all dice in one, even if it's not an order."
Just a fool...
tifus
Trusted Bowman
User avatar Trusted Bowman
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 23 Jun 2010, 14:23
Location: Between heaven and hell... Or the opposite ?

Re: Dice Rolling

Postby Noght » 10 Aug 2011, 23:05

Why are you letting the guy with the broken over the top book tell you how to play your item? The FAQ is clear, you get multiple rolls with Stone of Rebirth, the only exceptions to Stone of Rebirth activating is Killing Blow (he didn't do that) or Multi-Wound weapons (Cannon Snipe anyone). If you take 4 wounds you roll one at a time...as soon as you lose a wound on your noble then your Ward Save kicks in. If he complains tough. You don't have to roll all your saves at once.

Noght
p.s. Awful lot of Warriors of Chaos rule bending/arguing/bitching about losing going on over here, makes you wonder. Can't wait for the new book and we get 15%-20% more troops to kick them all over the board with, whiney simps.
"Spirit of the Game arguments are used by Role Players who get their A$$es kicked by Wargammers."
Noght
Bladesinger
User avatar Bladesinger
 
Posts: 727
Joined: 10 Jan 2011, 13:53
Location: Normal, IL

Re: Dice Rolling

Postby Beithir Seun » 10 Aug 2011, 23:11

I don't have my rulebook on me to quote directly, but rolling all dice at once is most definitely not a rule. As Admiral Wow said, it's simply a suggestion to make the game go faster. For things like the the Stone, rolling dice seperately should be obvious - otherwise, the ward would never come into play.
Carrot and Stick ~ Beithir's Blog
Beithir Seun
The Philosopher
User avatar Content Admin (1) Council Leader (1) LEAF Leader (1) Campaign Team (1)
 
Posts: 17372
Joined: 18 Apr 2006, 18:03
Location: Surrounded by Night Goblins in furry hats...

Re: Dice Rolling

Postby roflopogus » 11 Aug 2011, 04:25

Thank you guys. That's exactly what I tried to explain to him. If Stone of Rebirth didn't activate like that, there would be absolutely no reason to take the item. I didn't have the FAQ printed out, so I didn't have leverage in hard copy. In addition, I haven't played that many games and am still learning the rules. There were several other suspicious things in the game that I found out I was correct afterward. First, he took supporting attacks when I flank charged him. Second, he moved after he rallied with his chaos warriors. Lastly, I moved my glade guard backwards to keep pummeling his marauders with shooting, which is of course half movement. I insisted that I got to move 3 inches backwards, but he wouldn't have it. 2 he said. It's funny because in the book, they give an example of an elf moving in that manner and they round up. I guess I just assumed he knew his stuff, and even when I was suspicious, I wasn't insistent enough. The scary thing is that he says he teaches Warhammer to children at the hobby shop every other weekend...
roflopogus
 

Re: Dice Rolling

Postby Admiral_Wow » 11 Aug 2011, 06:17

roflopogus wrote:Thank you guys. That's exactly what I tried to explain to him. If Stone of Rebirth didn't activate like that, there would be absolutely no reason to take the item. I didn't have the FAQ printed out, so I didn't have leverage in hard copy. In addition, I haven't played that many games and am still learning the rules. There were several other suspicious things in the game that I found out I was correct afterward. First, he took supporting attacks when I flank charged him. Second, he moved after he rallied with his chaos warriors. Lastly, I moved my glade guard backwards to keep pummeling his marauders with shooting, which is of course half movement. I insisted that I got to move 3 inches backwards, but he wouldn't have it. 2 he said. It's funny because in the book, they give an example of an elf moving in that manner and they round up. I guess I just assumed he knew his stuff, and even when I was suspicious, I wasn't insistent enough. The scary thing is that he says he teaches Warhammer to children at the hobby shop every other weekend...



scary thing indeed. Seems every group has one of those, I know mine does. live and learn is really all the advice i can give. learn your rules, learn the BRB, never doubt yourself. Argue your point until HE proves YOU wrong, or your prove yourself wrong .... which is the case sometimes.
Admiral_Wow
Trusted Bowman
User avatar Trusted Bowman
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 29 Jul 2010, 21:23
Location: Texas

Re: Dice Rolling

Postby unicorn » 11 Aug 2011, 08:03

Basically, you roll all attacks at once, but as long as it is not multi-wounding weapon, the wounds count as happens one after another. This is because of all effect likes "against 1st wound" and so on, which will be hard to solve without the above mentioned rule.
Unicorn's conversions (updated 1st Jun)
Painted
BSB, mounted noble, WD noble, Branchie, Alter, Treeman, 12 WR, 10 WD, 10 GR, 10 WW, 5 Dryads, 5 WhR, 6 Tk, Altar of Khaine
Finished
Treeman, 10 WD, dragon lord, Alter, 9 WhR, 5 GR, DE sin, OK Butcher, Beast heroes x5
unicorn
Walking Rulebook
User avatar LEAF Team (1)
 
Posts: 4267
Joined: 18 Oct 2007, 13:12
Location: Czech republic (GMT+1 for WFO purposes)


Return to The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest