Magic arrows and normal arrows?

Moderator: Council of Elders

Magic arrows and normal arrows?

Postby NightBirdFlying » 05 Jul 2011, 20:19

So I have given a waywatcher noble a magic bow and magic arrows. I know that if i fire the magic arrows I lose lethal shot but can i chose to fire normal arrows thus keeping lethal shot?

Swift answers would be great as the battle is about to begin?

Cheers.
NightBirdFlying
Newcomer
Newcomer
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 25 Mar 2011, 03:59

Re: Magic arrows and normal arrows?

Postby SeanyPrawny » 05 Jul 2011, 20:38

Theres a rule that states a chharacter must use their magical gear over their mundane gear so no. Might aswell drop him to scout and save pts
SeanyPrawny
Horsemaster
Horsemaster
 
Posts: 252
Joined: 01 Sep 2010, 13:22

Re: Magic arrows and normal arrows?

Postby NightBirdFlying » 05 Jul 2011, 21:18

So would I still get the lethal shot special rule if i'm firing normal arrows from a magic bow?
NightBirdFlying
Newcomer
Newcomer
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 25 Mar 2011, 03:59

Re: Magic arrows and normal arrows?

Postby SeanyPrawny » 05 Jul 2011, 21:26

No thats in the waywatcher kindred rules i believe
SeanyPrawny
Horsemaster
Horsemaster
 
Posts: 252
Joined: 01 Sep 2010, 13:22

Re: Magic arrows and normal arrows?

Postby Shandrakor » 05 Jul 2011, 21:31

SeanyPrawny wrote:Theres a rule that states a chharacter must use their magical gear over their mundane gear so no. Might aswell drop him to scout and save pts

Actually, that was only referring to Magical Weapons specifically. In this case though, because they have a magical bow (magic weapon) they must use the bow when shooting and always shoot magical arrows, as is referenced by the Wood Elf FAQ.

WE FAQ wrote:Q. Do arrows fired by a magic bow count as magical attacks? (p62)
A. Yes.

If they only had magical arrows they would be able to pick and choose whether or not they wanted to fire a normal (Lethal due to Waywatcher Kindred) or a magical arrow when firing.
Well, my ideas for the next book turned out to be a bust.
But it was still fun working on something of this scale.
For those who care:
viewtopic.php?f=29&t=22620
Shandrakor
Shadow Sentinel
User avatar Shadow Sentinel
 
Posts: 2397
Joined: 12 Jul 2010, 11:09
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: Magic arrows and normal arrows?

Postby unicorn » 06 Jul 2011, 13:13

Shandrakor wrote:
WE FAQ wrote:Q. Do arrows fired by a magic bow count as magical attacks? (p62)
A. Yes.

If they only had magical arrows they would be able to pick and choose whether or not they wanted to fire a normal (Lethal due to Waywatcher Kindred) or a magical arrow when firing.

Exactly.
Many people failed to realize that the rule of "I must use magical gear over mundane one" apply only on magical WEAPONS. There is no such rule for magical armor, enchanted items, talismans nor arcane items.
Unicorn's conversions (updated 1st Jun)
Painted
BSB, mounted noble, WD noble, Branchie, Alter, Treeman, 12 WR, 10 WD, 10 GR, 10 WW, 5 Dryads, 5 WhR, 6 Tk, Altar of Khaine
Finished
Treeman, 10 WD, dragon lord, Alter, 9 WhR, 5 GR, DE sin, OK Butcher, Beast heroes x5
unicorn
Walking Rulebook
User avatar LEAF Team (1)
 
Posts: 4267
Joined: 18 Oct 2007, 13:12
Location: Czech republic (GMT+1 for WFO purposes)


Return to The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest