How many Glade Guard is too many?

Moderator: Council of Elders

Zeromage
Newcomer
Newcomer

How many Glade Guard is too many?

Post by Zeromage »

Hi, guys,

I've been a gamer all my life (D+D, Magic, Heroclix, video games, etc.), but I'm new to Wood Elves, and Warhammer FB in general. I should preface this question by saying that I bought pretty much my entire army at once, and then I painted all my Glade Guard at first. I played my first game this week, and I fielded 20 Glade Guard (they were the only units I had painted), and nothing else. Well, I played my friend's Dwarf army (he is a much more experienced player, he's been playing for 10+ years) and I shoot it to pieces. He started complaining afterwards that my army was cheesey. He then took out his Beastman army, and said he was going to use 3 chariots to counter my army (he said that was his version of a cheesey army). Well, my rolls were all great, and once again I won the battle. After this he looked like he was about to cry about it. He said he is never going to play against me again. My question is, would you consider an all Glade Guard army to be cheesey? Or was he just being a baby?

btw, I also have 5 Glade Riders, 3 Treekin, 12 Eternal Guard, 10 more Glade Guard, 8 Waywatchers, and an Elven Lord which I haven't painted yet.

Any thoughts?
lune
Bladesinger
Bladesinger
Armies I play: woodies, building up gobbo and demon tzeentch

Re: How many Glade Guard is too many?

Post by lune »

The amount of glade guard you can field is dependent on the amount of terrain and the table size. In general, you can field about 1 unit of glade guard per 24 inches board width without loosing sight to targets (youve got other units on the table that will often end up in your unit's line of sight if not played carefully).
Apart from that I must wonder that you could shoot him to bits.. dwarfs have higher toughness, armour save and though they hit 1 worse, they wound better (all for the same cost).