Search found 4270 matches

Return to advanced search

Re: do scouts effect who gets the +1 for deployment?

Lain wrote:By the way, i don´t know you, your opponents or your gaming enviroment either, but i´m sure we both have played a few games and can read and understand the rulebook :D

:D
by unicorn
24 Apr 2011, 09:25
 
Forum: The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)
Topic: do scouts effect who gets the +1 for deployment?
Replies: 45
Views: 4906

Re: Magic armor question

Common magical items are called common becouse all armies have access to them (well, baring the Dwarfs who like runes more than items). Dwarfs and Daemons. But still - rule-wise, there is nothing like "common magic item." They exists, but there is nothing "special" about them in...
by unicorn
23 Apr 2011, 21:48
 
Forum: The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)
Topic: Magic armor question
Replies: 8
Views: 429

Re: Interaction of Kindred and magic items

Salamander wrote:Wardsaves never stack, unless the item/special rule specifically says it does. So no, in this case it doesn't stack.

Exactly. And as far as I remember, only stackable wards are 6+ tzeench ward and magic resistance.
by unicorn
23 Apr 2011, 18:54
 
Forum: The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)
Topic: Interaction of Kindred and magic items
Replies: 2
Views: 215

Re: Regrowth Question

IylanKano wrote:Can Lifebloom then be used on monstrous infantry (Treekin)?

Yes. It can be used on any unit in the game, as long as it do not "rise" new (or already dead) models.
by unicorn
23 Apr 2011, 18:53
 
Forum: The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)
Topic: Regrowth Question
Replies: 12
Views: 650

Re: Magic armor question

hmmm actually - dispel scroll is a common item and cailingors is an actual item - so yes you could take both for 25pts ea. if im right You can not. Why? Same category, so no, no dispell scroll + calingors Because of this. Anyway, rulewise - there is nothing like "common magical item" and ...
by unicorn
23 Apr 2011, 18:52
 
Forum: The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)
Topic: Magic armor question
Replies: 8
Views: 429

Re: do scouts effect who gets the +1 for deployment?

Unicorn - with all due respect - what do you mean? I mean that the rules are clear and that they make sense. Arguing that they are unfair to one single army or to the army sou personally play is... short-sighted. At best. Do you really think the +1 bonus would skip the allready ridicuolus balance i...
by unicorn
23 Apr 2011, 18:49
 
Forum: The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)
Topic: do scouts effect who gets the +1 for deployment?
Replies: 45
Views: 4906

Re: do scouts effect who gets the +1 for deployment?

Well what if lets say I have a force that is only 5 units and 1 scout unit, and my opponent has 8 units and no scouts, because scouts deploy last my opponent will automatically get the +1 Exactly. And? Lets say I have the force of 1 regular unit and 10 scouts. My opponent have 7 units. And I will a...
by unicorn
23 Apr 2011, 07:57
 
Forum: The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)
Topic: do scouts effect who gets the +1 for deployment?
Replies: 45
Views: 4906

Re: do scouts effect who gets the +1 for deployment?

No scouts do not affect the +1 for first turn. In fact, they do. They are deployed once all regular non scout units have been placed. As you stated, they are DEPLOYED. And the +1 goes to 1st person who finish his deployement... Rules are pretty clear in this: The player who finish to DEPLOY his ARM...
by unicorn
23 Apr 2011, 00:11
 
Forum: The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)
Topic: do scouts effect who gets the +1 for deployment?
Replies: 45
Views: 4906

Re: Magic armor question

I am guessing the answer to both questions is no, but if anybody knows of any way to get a magic shield and either a helm or magic armor I would like to know just to have that option open. Only way is to play with ravening hordes ABs; the Enchanted shield allows you to take one more piece of magica...
by unicorn
23 Apr 2011, 00:05
 
Forum: The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)
Topic: Magic armor question
Replies: 8
Views: 429

Re: Vampire Counts + Lore of Beasts

Kulgan86 wrote:I am I wrong or is the assumption no warmachine can target you if you are in close combat still valid? Even if you are a monster?

That is true, tough you will not be in that combat in his turn like... for sure ;)
by unicorn
21 Apr 2011, 12:46
 
Forum: The Outer Fields
Topic: Vampire Counts + Lore of Beasts
Replies: 18
Views: 1724

Re: Stomp question

Noone have the stomp.
by unicorn
21 Apr 2011, 12:45
 
Forum: The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)
Topic: Stomp question
Replies: 2
Views: 264

Re: Vampire Counts + Lore of Beasts

The red fury is far more usefull in this case too... Why? If you win the combat and you are facing such units presence on battlefield, you should cancel your chimera by your own. The chimera is there NOT to take down whole enemy army. It is there to take down the most crucial enemy unit. And this is...
by unicorn
21 Apr 2011, 08:00
 
Forum: The Outer Fields
Topic: Vampire Counts + Lore of Beasts
Replies: 18
Views: 1724

Re: Vampire Counts + Lore of Beasts

Shandrakor wrote:Yes, as the Lord will still have 4 wounds on him, which is more than his starting value, so he dies as soon as the Transformation is dispelled.

Exactly.
And this is the big advantage of VC. They can heal their Chimera SO easily...
by unicorn
20 Apr 2011, 21:58
 
Forum: The Outer Fields
Topic: Vampire Counts + Lore of Beasts
Replies: 18
Views: 1724

Re: Magical "Armor" Items and Mundane Armor

Strongbow wrote:Mabelode, I am using the English version of the game. Are you as well? From my understanding, a battle standard bearer (BSB) is a 15 pt. upgrade to a noble.

I think he just wish to say that by "noble" means "non-BSB noble" and by "BSB" he menas... Well, BSB :D
by unicorn
20 Apr 2011, 20:34
 
Forum: The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)
Topic: Magical "Armor" Items and Mundane Armor
Replies: 21
Views: 1861

Re: Vampire Counts + Lore of Beasts

While transformed, dragon/chimera is still undead, so that can be invocated by other wizards? Yes, as he keeps his special rules - and the Undead and Vampire rules are one of them. And if before transforming has for example 1 wound only, after dispell of the transformation he has 1 would only again...
by unicorn
20 Apr 2011, 20:24
 
Forum: The Outer Fields
Topic: Vampire Counts + Lore of Beasts
Replies: 18
Views: 1724

Re: Vampire Counts + Lore of Beasts

Why? Understanding that CR is not all about wounds, an Ethereal unit in the flank of a mundane weapon bearing unit is going to cause any amount of grief. Because we are taling here about one specific combo. And because with this combo, it is very unlikely there will be any wounds caused on your chi...
by unicorn
20 Apr 2011, 18:46
 
Forum: The Outer Fields
Topic: Vampire Counts + Lore of Beasts
Replies: 18
Views: 1724

Re: Magical "Armor" Items and Mundane Armor

Kertilien wrote:The current interpretation is that being reduced to one wound grants you an unlimited use 2+ ward save, but that can only occur once - that is, if the bearer's wounds are healed, he or she loses the ward save and won't gain it a second time if reduced to one wound again.

Exactly
by unicorn
20 Apr 2011, 18:34
 
Forum: The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)
Topic: Magical "Armor" Items and Mundane Armor
Replies: 21
Views: 1861

Re: Vampire Counts + Lore of Beasts

Frimbleglim wrote:Even better make the vampire ethereal too. This remains when the vampire is in dragon form. :evil:

Being ethereal will mean you do not have red fury. And as you can be healed and you have 4+ regeneration, I do not think the ethereal is better that more attacks.
by unicorn
20 Apr 2011, 16:53
 
Forum: The Outer Fields
Topic: Vampire Counts + Lore of Beasts
Replies: 18
Views: 1724

Re: Vampire Counts + Lore of Beasts

The "super death star of VC" in 8th eddition looks like this: VC lord, lvl 3, forbidden arts (with beast), red fury, power scroll (and pretty much anything else) BSB, Darkenhof Banner Grave guard unit, Strigoi standard The point is simple. You get into combat, prey for enough PDs. If you h...
by unicorn
19 Apr 2011, 18:44
 
Forum: The Outer Fields
Topic: Vampire Counts + Lore of Beasts
Replies: 18
Views: 1724

Re: Magical "Armor" Items and Mundane Armor

Shandrakor wrote:Yeah, since we can't take normal Heavy Armor, we get stuck with the best on foot you can get for armor is a 4+ and mounted's best is a 3+ armor save, unless you use the Armor of Silvered Steel's 2+.

Still, 3+ AS and 3 wounds on 180-pts worth noble is pretty decent score ;)
by unicorn
19 Apr 2011, 18:24
 
Forum: The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)
Topic: Magical "Armor" Items and Mundane Armor
Replies: 21
Views: 1861

Re: shooting through skirmishers.

It is exactly as untravel stated; only if you play under ETC rules, then the skirmishers provides only soft cover instead of hard (ETC house rule)
by unicorn
19 Apr 2011, 18:21
 
Forum: The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)
Topic: shooting through skirmishers.
Replies: 2
Views: 351

Re: Daemonic Instability

Then how does it? Doesn't really help to refute what I say and then not say how it does work. The very 1st post give you the answer. As well as the GW FAQ. Anyway... Q. Is the maximum number of wounds that can be inflicted by a failed Instability test limited to 10 (a roll of ‘12’ compared to a Lea...
by unicorn
18 Apr 2011, 18:56
 
Forum: The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)
Topic: Daemonic Instability
Replies: 6
Views: 563

Re: Daemonic Instability

Shandrakor wrote:... but the amount they over rolled their modified break test by is how many more wounds they suffer from Daemonic Instability. Note that the minimum Leadership you can be reduced to for said test is Insane Courage (i.e. 2).

No. This is not how it works.
by unicorn
18 Apr 2011, 10:11
 
Forum: The Pool of Enlightenment (Old Army Book)
Topic: Daemonic Instability
Replies: 6
Views: 563

Re: Tomb Kings in May!

Few of actual "rumors" We still cause fear, can't march and hold for charge reaction. Unbreakable/unstable special rules etc. Heirophant: has to take Nek Lore. Liche can take Nek Lore, Light and Death. Lords Tomb King :170 gw +6 fl,sp(ch) +3 ch +60 100mi - same stats Special rule: Neh unde...
by unicorn
17 Apr 2011, 14:15
 
Forum: The Outer Fields
Topic: Tomb Kings in May!
Replies: 42
Views: 3607

Re: Storm of Magic, incoming

I think a new Forest Spirit would be the obvious choice for a uber monster assuming (and we probably will) get one. Maybe an Earth Elemental or something? In fact, we already HAVE one. Treeman is uber monster in all respects... Anyway, few infos about SoM: * monsters are designed in such way player...
by unicorn
15 Apr 2011, 16:38
 
Forum: The Outer Fields
Topic: Storm of Magic, incoming
Replies: 128
Views: 20926
PreviousNext

Return to advanced search

cron